Six Industry Pioneers to be Inducted into Sports Betting Hall of Fame

SBC has announced the names of the six industry pioneers who will join the Sports Betting Hall of Fame during this week’s Betting on Sports Europe conference in London.

The Sports Betting Hall of Fame was launched by SBC in 2016 to recognise and celebrate the individuals who have made significant long-lasting contributions to the industry. Its latest members will be honoured at a special ceremony in the spectacular setting of London’s Natural History Museum on 11 November.

The six people set to be inducted are:

  • Simon Bold – Founder, SBGL and Former CEO bwin International
  • Vincent Caldwell – Founder, betinternet and Chairman & CEO, Virtual Software
  • Ludovico Calvi – President, Global Lottery Monitoring System (GLMS)
  • Clive Hawkswood – Former CEO, RGA and Former Chairman, RAiG
  • Birgitte Sand – Former Director General, Danish Gambling Authority
  • Jan Svendsen – Founder, Coolbet, Nordicbet and Triobet

Between them the new inductees have made significant contributions to the industry in multiple jurisdictions, including Denmark, Gibraltar, Ireland, the Isle of Man, Italy, the UK, the Nordic region and Baltic states, and various US states.

All the new inductees were delighted by the news that their careers are to be celebrated in this way.

Simon Bold said: “It’s most gratifying and a great pleasure to be joining good friends and colleagues from my many years in the industry, such as Norbert Teufelberger, Carsten Koerl, and Denise Coates, and many others who form part of this illustrious group.”

Vincent Caldwell said: “It is a huge honour to be inducted into the Sports Betting Hall of Fame.”

Ludovico Calvi said: “For me to be inducted into the Sports Betting Hall of Fame is a recognition by the industry of having contributed to raise the standards of excellence, always supporting regulated, responsible and sustainable betting market environments while safeguarding the level of integrity and customer protection throughout the journey.”

Clive Hawkswood said: “It’s always been a great idea to recognise people’s contributions over a period of time to the sector, but I never imagined I would be one of the recipients. So, it was a nice surprise to be even considered for it. That was even more so after I had reminded myself of some of the industry greats who have been inducted in previous years.”

Birgitte Sand said: “I am very grateful to SBC for this fine honour and proud to be in the company of so many great people! I also allow myself to take the recognition as a valuable expression of the importance of dialogue between the gambling industry and regulators.”

Jan Svendsen said: “It’s a great honour and a nice reward after 35 years in the industry.”

SBC’s Founder & CEO Rasmus Sojmark added: “We’re delighted to be able to welcome our latest inductees to the Sports Betting Hall of Fame in person after the Class of 2020 ceremony took place online. We’re once again back in one of London’s iconic venues and the party at the Natural History Museum promises to be a great way to round off Betting on Sports Europe.”

Published on:

Editorial Tags: